And The Awards Go To…(2012 Edition)

A little early this year (thanks to the AHL schedule makers) but earlier tonight was the annual Booster Club Awards Banquet. There were statistical awards, fan voted awards, and a couple from the Bowlathon as well. Let’s get right to the list of winners, shall we? Following along with my program:

Bowlathon Awards:

Player’s High Game: J.S. Berube (with a 211; Keith Kinkaid tried to rig it by giving himself a 300 but it didn’t work)
Best Effort (lowest score): Vladimir Zharkov (no word on what the actual score was)

Acknowledgement of Achievements:

Goal Scoring Leader: Steve Zalewski (16)
Assist Leader: Joe Whitney (22)
Game Winning Goal Leader: Tim Sestito (4)
Short Handed Goals: Vladimir Zharkov (2) (Steve Bernier also with 2)
Power Play Goals: Steve Zalewski (7) (Eric Gelinas also with 7)
Hat Tricks: Stephane Veilleux (January 18), Joe Whitney (January 21)
First AHL Goals: Mike Sislo, Eric Gelinas, Brandon Burlon
First AHL Shutout: Keith Kinkaid

Player Awards:

3rd Star of the Year: Steve Zalewski
2nd Star of the Year: Nathan Perkovich
1st Star of the Year: Keith Kinkaid
(based on how many times a player received a star of the game)

Offensive Player of the Year: Joe Whitney
Defensive Player of the Year: Dan Kelly
Most Electrifying Player: Joe Whitney
Unsung Hero: Nathan Perkovich
Fan Favorite: Stephen Gionta
(voted on by members of the Booster Club)

Most Improved Player: Alexander Urbom
John Cunniff Memorial Award: Tim Sestito
(voted on by the coaching staff)

Thanks to the Booster Club for a fun dinner out and to my Table 6 mates, Joe Whitney and Brandon Burlon.

Bonus: Photo Gallery! (all photos by me)

Joe Whitney's hat trick hat
Stephen Gionta addressing the crowd
Nathan Perkovich showing off the hardware

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: