And the Awards Go To…(2015 Edition)

Just came home from the annual Devils STH party downtown…and this year there was more than just player intros and watching the year’s highlight reel: due to scheduling conflicts, the Booster Club was unable to do a separate awards banquet.  But there were still awards to be given out, so without further delay…

First, the Bowlathon awards:

Players High Score: Joe Whitney (with a 182…he beat me, so…)

Players Best Effort: Paul Thompson (no report on what the actual score was)

Next, the Booster Club vote:

Offensive Player of the Year: Paul Thompson (also my pick)

Defensive Player of the Year: Dan Kelly (same; he has won it all 5 years of the Devils existence by the way)

Most Electrifying Player (the player who gets the fans going, gets them cheering, etc.): Cam Janssen (my pick: Scott Wedgewood)

Unsung Hero (does the most for the team but gets no credit): Graham Black (for some reason I chose Brandon Burlon)

Fan Favorite: Scott Wedgewood (back to back years for Wedge; my pick: Mike Sislo)

Your Three Stars of the season (based on how many times a player was selected for a star of the game):

Third Star: Paul Thompson

Second Star: Scott Wedgewood

First Star: Joe Whitney

Finally, the coaches’ awards:

Most Improved Player: Raman Hrabarenka

John Cunniff Memorial Award: Dan Kelly

And I did get a few injury updates, which will be included in Friday’s primer.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: